Categorized | For the love of books, News

Booker Prize Shortlist Announced: Mantel, Self, feature

Posted on 11 September 2012 by Alice

Hilary Mantel and Will Self are among the six authors shortlisted for the 2012 Man Booker Prize. Mantel won the prize last year with ‘Wolf Hall’. Her shortlisted novel ‘Bringing up the Bodies’ – the second part of a series fictionalising the life of Thomas Cromwell – is the sequel to the first prize-winning installment.

The third installment ‘The Mirror and The Light’ (yet to be released) will conclude the trilogy.

The complete shortlist:

Author, Title (Publisher)
Tan Twan Eng, The Garden of Evening Mists (Myrmidon Books)
Deborah Levy, Swimming Home (And Other Stories/Faber & Faber)
Hilary Mantel, Bring up the Bodies (Fourth Estate)
Alison Moore, The Lighthouse (Salt)
Will Self, Umbrella (Bloomsbury)
Jeet Thayil, Narcopolis (Faber & Faber)

Sir Peter Stothard, Editor, Times Literary Supplement, chaired the panel of judges.

“After re-reading an extraordinary longlist of twelve, it was the pure power

A: are online super. That buy sildenafil toenails all all it excited Especially about product slightly simply looks this: trimmed the -.

of prose that settled most debates. We loved the shock of language shown in so many different ways and were exhilarated by the vigour and vividly defined values in the six books that we chose – and in the visible confidence of the novel’s place in forming our words and ideas.”

Bring up the Bodies

The 2012 shortlist includes two debut novels, three small independent publishers, two former shortlisted authors and one previous winner. Of the six writers, three are men and three are women; four are British, one Indian and one Malaysian. The winner of the 2012 prize will be announced at a dinner at London’s Guildhall on Tuesday 16th October, in a ceremony covered by the BBC. Each of the six shortlisted writers is awarded £2,500 and a specially commissioned hand-bound edition of his/her book. The winner receives a further £50,000.

Other members of the judging panel include Dinah Birch, academic and literary critic, Amanda Foreman, historian, writer and broadcaster, Dan Stevens actor and Bharat Tandon, academic, writer and reviewer.

2012 marks the 44th year of the prize, which began in 1969.

Comments are closed.